The Lost Art of Reading and Internet Escape

I came across this article by David Ulin of the Los Angeles Times by way of the NY Times Book Review. (The Times reviewed the book that he expanded this essay into.) The article is definitely worth a read, check it out here or the link below.  It’s one other read that builds onto my wariness of the internet, or rather (as I blog about this) my reluctance to let myself be chained to my computer, to fully embrace facebook and twitter. All things social media become an extension of ourselves and the quiet times, that are so vital to some, become increasingly hard to manage. The more time I spend on the internet, the less I feel able to do something worthwhile, such as pursue an idea or even open up a book and read; it becomes both uplifting and discouraging. My studio space does not have internet access which is a blessing. Of course if your workspace or just your alone space does have it you can always download, Freedom here (an internet blocking software).

I’m currently splitting my time between two books, Landscape & Memory by Simon Schama and The Black Book by Orhan Pamuk. Always looking for recommendations, if you need any let me know. I consider myself quite a bookworm.

“I am too susceptible, it turns out, to the tumult of the culture, the sound and fury signifying nothing.” David Ulin

http://articles.latimes.com/2009/aug/09/entertainment/ca-reading9

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Lost Art of Reading and Internet Escape

  1. Jenn Kenn

    I’m always on the lookout for suggestions myself, as far as what to read. I’ve literally run out of Haruki Murakami books to read (I recommend A Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, by Murakami, if you have not read that; or, for a slightly less fantasy-driven book by him, Norwegian Wood – which they have just made a movie adaptation of), and I’ve exhausted my household supply of Kurt Vonnegut books. I finally made my way to the local library – and I can only check out two books at a time, it’s madness! Still used to being a student, and being able to check out 50 books. I’m currently in possession of a critical introduction to Susan Sontag. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

